Barbara Harriss-White Thesis Prize Winners 2020

We are delighted to announce the two winners of the Barbara Harriss-White thesis prize 2020, the decisions on which have been unavoidably delayed as a result of the pandemic. 

The winners are: Nainika Dinesh for her MPhil thesis entitled The Mission to Exhibit: British missionary activity and representations of India 1880-1950; and Amar Zaidi for his MSc thesis entitled The Politics of Cultural Production: Shi’a Aesthetics and Rule in Awadh, 1764-1857.

Both students were supervised in the academic year 2019-20 by the late Professor David Washbrook, and their achievements are a fitting legacy to his support both of them as individuals and also of the Modern South Asian Studies programmes more generally.

We offer our heartfelt congratulations to Nainika and Amar!