Full Studentship for Masters through to DPhil studies available for 2013/14 Entry

The University of Oxford is one of 21 centres of postgraduate excellence accredited by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) as a Doctoral Training Centre (DTC). The University is one of the major providers of social science research training in the UK, and has one of the largest and most diverse pools of academic social scientists producing internationally recognised research. It is home to a number of outstanding departments, which are committed to research to develop a greater understanding of all aspects of society.

The Contemporary South Asian Studies Programme, part of the School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies, is pleased to invite applications for a Masters-to-DPhil studentship starting in October 2013, in the Area Studies training pathway. These ESRC Doctoral Training Centre studentships are not intended for taught Master’s degrees on their own. All applicants should envisage continuing to doctoral level study in one of the following departments at Oxford University: Anthropology, Development Studies, Economics, Geography, History, International Relations, Politics, Social Policy, Sociology. Successful applicants’ upgrading to their chosen doctoral programmes is subject to the decision of the DPhil admission committee of the respective department and is based on the student’s performance in their Master’s programme.

How to apply:

Applicants should first apply to  the MSc Contemporary India through the standard on-line application procedure. In order to be eligible to apply for the DTC studentship your application must be submitted by the second application deadline: 18th January 2013.

Application for the DTC studentship is separate and should consist of: (1) a doctoral-level proposal (max 2000 words) containing a description of the project, the research puzzle to be addressed and the methods to be used, together with a brief timetable for the proposed research; and (2) a curriculum vitae.

Applications for the DTC studentship funding from the second application deadline should be sent to the CSASP Administrator (tanya.vale@area.ox.ac.uk) by 5pm Wednesday 20 February, 2013.

All applicants must satisfy the ESRC’s citizenship and residence requirements and are advised to acquaint themselves with relevant ESRC sources of information. http://www.esrc.ac.uk/funding-and-guidance/guidance/postgraduates/prospective-students/eligibility/index.aspx